Meet Celaena Sardothien

The award-winning first installment of the New York Times bestselling series…

Throne of Glass

In a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, Celaena, an assassin, is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king’s champion.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass—and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world.

Genre: Fantasy

 

Plot: Throne of Glass is about Celaena Sardothien, an 18-year-old assassin in the kingdom of Adarlan. After being improsoned for a year by the king, she accepts his son’s offer to compete with other assassins and thieves for a chance to serve as the king’s champion, after four years of which, she would be granted freedom. This leads her to form unexpected bond with Chaol, the captain of the guard, and Dorian the Crown Prince of Adarlan. Overtime, Celaena is drawn into conspiracy and series of battles leading to discoveries surrounding both kingdom and herself.

 

My Insights

This is the first fantasy book that I have read. This book is a page turner where everything is so fantastic. You will anticipate all the events in the story. You will also conclude “what’s going on” and “what is going to happen”. It feels like you are with Celaena in this story. You would really feel all her hardhips that she experienced in the story.

The point of view of “Throne of Glass” is third person, told mostly through Celaena, but occasionally through Prince Dorian or Chaol, or even King Aldaran if required by the narrative. The point of view goes a long way towards establishing the growth of Celaena as a character throughout the novel, as she begins with somewhat paranoid and self-serving thoughts, but quickly becomes caring and very friendly once she establishes herself inside the castle. Celaena is a fairly reliable narrator, and often provides insights that do not occur to the people around her. However, she is often unable to understand Chaol, especially when he is suddenly put off by her behavior or upset by something that she says. In these situations, the reader is likely to understand Chaol better than she does.

This novel is recommended for teens or young adults. Fans of Game of Thrones and Hunger Games will also love it. Sarah J. Maas had surprised me. She changed my perspective about fantasy that it is not just about magic and powers, it is also about DAGGERS and ACTION.

Rating: 5/5

What other are saying about “Throne of Glass”: 

BongBongBooks’s Review: Overall, Throne of Glass is an amazing start to a series. I’m very much excited to see the routes that the book will take. I’ll definitely continue on with the series.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: